Be a Student Video Director

UPDATED: Winners announced!

Thank you to all of the Chicago Public School students who entered the Chicago NATO Host Committee video contest! The Welcome Video winners were announced on May 17 in a ceremony with Mayor Rahm Emanuel and Host Committee Executive Director Lori Healey. Here are the winning videos:

High School

Video made by Maia McDonald, 11th grader at Whitney Young High School; Aria McDonald, 11th grader at Gwendolyn Brooks College Prep; and Charla Agnew, 12th grader from Dunbar High School.













Elementary School

Video made by Adelina Lopez, Chanel Scott, Maria Gomez, and Alexander Kostner, all from Scammon Elementary School













Contest Rules

The Chicago NATO Host Committee is partnering with Chicago Public Schools to develop a creative video contest for CPS elementary and high school students. Students throughout the District will compete to produce the most innovative videos welcoming NATO delegates to Chicago. The purpose is to showcase the talents of CPS students and encourage conversations about NATO countries and their history.

The videos should be under three minutes long and explain to the visiting delegates why Chicago is a unique and special city. These welcome videos, for example, might suggest where foreign delegates should go and eat in Chicago. Students can describe in their videos what they love about their city.

Top winners will receive iPods, courtesy of the Host Committee. In addition, one new 4G iPad will be awarded to a winner drawn at random and a $400 office supplies gift certificate will be presented and shared by teachers of winning students. Winners also will receive recognition by CPS and NATO leadership at an event in May.

 Winning videos will be featured on both the Host Committee and Chicago Public Schools websites.